Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Thomas More Wins ACAA Championship on PK's over Alfred State

Thomas More Wins ACAA Championship on PK's over Alfred State

(HANCOCK, Mich.) – The top-seeded Thomas More University women's soccer team played third-seeded Alfred State University to 0-0 draw, but won the American Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA) Championship in penalty kicks today (Saturday, November 4, 2018) in the cold, wind and snow in Hancock, Michigan.

  • Thomas More won the championship by a 5-4 advantage during the penalty kick shootout.

  • This was Thomas More's eighth-straight conference championship as it won the Presidents' Athletic Conference (PAC) championship the previous seven years.
  • The Saints out-shot Alfred State 33-7, including 15-4 on goal.
  • Sophomore defender Brianna Lunsford (Cincinnati, Ohio/Oak Hills) was named the ACAA Tournament Most Valuable Player.
  • Junior midfielder Olivia Nienaber (Alexandria, Ky./Bishop Brossart), junior forward Shaye Isaacs (Nicholasville, Ky./West Jessamine) and junior midfielder Megan Sheridan (Cincinnati, Ohio/Oak Hills) joined Lunsford on the all-tournament team.
  • Junior goalkeeper Maddy Kim (California, Ky./Notre Dame Academy) played all 110 minutes in goal and had four saves.
  • Lunsford was named the tournament Most Valuable Player.
  • Isaacs, Nienaber, and Sheridan were named to the All-Tournament team. 

  • Thomas More ends the season 6-12-2 and transition to NAIA and the Mid-South Conference next season.